Plus ça change...

By SooB

Nuns

For weeks now we've been trying to figure out whether the nuns were building a swimming pool or a trout pond. Turns out to be some kind of water treatment plant. Very dull.

Early start (painfully so after the first night in a while withMr B on wine measures duty) to drop CarbBoy off to be ferried to a basketball tournament. Then much ferrying of stuff to the vide grenier (car boot sale) in our village. Freezing today. Really proper Arctic wind. My tomatoes are very grumpy.

At a more reasonable hour, some more vide grenier visiting, then opening presents (anniversary gifts from Mr B plus a very fine birthday book from Lesley which she couldn't hand deliver). This led to an impromptu charades session when Mr B challenged me to charade At The Existentialist* Café: Freedom, Being and Apricot Cocktails to TallGirl. *Axe-Is-Ten-Pal-List.

She did very well, despite almost dying laughing at my bee impression. Later I really feared for her health when she saw my puffa fish impression. When this was reprised for CarbBoy later, I am delighted to say that he performed well too, and so we have hope that the dominance of the girls' team can be halted with the new generation of charaders. I mean really, the inevitability of our conquest is getting a little dull.

Just as well I didn't charade Lesley's book -rhymes with 'torn'....

In other news, we have an electric guitar on a trial. So that's fun (must go and see if the amp still works). CarbBoy is very excited.

Later, dinner was unmemorable (mainly due to lateness as I was being plied with fizz) but, it being our anniversary and all, Mr B is clearing up as we speak.

Back to school tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.