Seeing the Light

This is a scout & instructor just exiting the cave system they'd been exploring near Stoney Middleton. Several of them said they were glad to see the light again. It was definitely an adventure for the scouts & guides, which tested some to their limit.

Over the weekend they've done hill walking, climbing, cycling and caving and I think it was caving that had the most varied response and perhaps pushed them the furthest from their comfort zone. However, whilst some may have been relieved it was over, they were soon smiling again.

I'd declined the option of an adult session as it would involve abseiling, bending and crawling; all of which would be too much for my back at this stage. Tbh whilst I'd have done it if fully fit, squeezing through small dark, cold, wet tunnels doesn't really appeal. I think the young people were very brave.

So my role today involved a lot of hanging around outside but unbelievably I stayed pretty dry... unlike the poor cycling & climbing groups! I'm gaining a fairweather reputation but it can't last forever. In fact for my logbook I need some bad weather days... but I'm not asking for them just yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.