Top Model!

Henrietta is very proud of her appearance and was delighted to strut her stuff for Nicki's Mono Monday theme of Wings - how could I resist this one! I love wings and of course chickens, not only because they have wings!  However Henrietta actually has clipped wings, her previous owners clipped them to stop her flying out their garden! Now she is used to being on the allotment I shall let  the new feathers she will grow when she next moults  go unclipped - can't wait to see how they will look! All of our girls had their wings clipped when we first got them, but now they are fully winged and happy to stay within the fence. The first time was a little nerve wracking, but its actually very easy to clip their wings and does not hurt them. You fan out the wing and cut along the natural line made by  the upper shorter feathers. It does mean if they flap their shorter wings in your face, which Henrietta has done to me, it really hurts as the the hollow shafts or rachis are very rough and hard! 
I could have blipped the one in extras - my clay glazed chicken looking longingly at the wooden angels wings as apparently it seems to have no definable wings itself! However shortly after taking this one of the wings fell over and pushed it off the shelf and broke it's neck! So both wingless and headless! I glued it back together and with the ribbon round it's neck the casual observer wouldn't notice - but I am very peeved and angry with myself! I can only imagine how the chicken feels! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.