Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Caught by Light

It's funny, working on a bank holiday.  Our Council has opened on the May Day Bank Holiday ever since we were given the period between Christmas and New Year off work.  Driving into work was a doddle, and when it came time to go home I had an opportunity to park up next to a small copse of trees, where I'd noticed bluebells growing.  Normally it would have been impossible to stop because of the other traffic.

Making sense of a bluebell wood can be difficult.  In my view you either try to capture the whole scene, or isolate a flower head.  This copse didn't really lend itself to the wide picture, too much other growth.  There have been some stunning images on Blipfoto the last week or so, where the conditions lend themselves to that type of shot.

Instead the dappled light and deep shadow gave me the opportunity to isolate this head.  I wanted to throw the background completely out of focus so used a wide aperture. In the end this is a composite of two shots, so that I could get as much of the flower in focus as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.