Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Bluebell Dell, Enville

Up very early.  I'd been chatting with a colleague about any good bluebell woods he'd seen in his travels and he reminded me of this one, near Enville Hall.  It's a bit of a jaunt out to it from where I live so I started out early (5:30 am).  The sun was rising behind me as I drove through Wolverhampton and I was beginning to wish I'd headed out into the countryside to capture the first light.

I pulled up on the side of the road just after 6:25 and immediately was in a rush as I saw this little scene.  In fact a little less haste might have made this even better as a small group of fallow deer were drinking from the stream in the dell.  Regrettably, my clattering and banging put paid to them making up part of the scene.

I've hardly done anything in the way of post processing, a little vignette to hold down some of the highlights at the edge of the frame; a touch of sharpening; I've even turned down clarity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.