OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Bonxie (great skua)

My Monday eagle monitor. Last week I saw nothing of the eagles and it looked like much the same today as heavy showers blew in from the west between sunny spells. But, after a mere three hours I saw the male white-yailed eagle driving a buzzard from the eagles' territory. The buzzard looked tiny compared to the eagle. After driving off the smaller bird, the eagle circled around awhile and was present when two families stopped. They were able to watch it flying and on the cliff and were all very happy at their luck. A beautiful male hen harrier flew past very close earlier and I heard my first willow warbler of the season singing, saw my first puffin too and three common terns, yet again the first of the season, were harassing a bonxie in Stromness harbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.