Restoration

I was in Campbeltown at lunchtime and was much encouraged by the strong support I met in the streets and the hard work being done through the #BothVotesSNP campaign hub.

Cllr John Armour took me to see the restoration of the Town Hall which re-opened at the weekend.  I had last been in the building for the Cabinet meeting in Campbeltown almost three years ago and the transformation is remarkable - an amazing community facility has been created whilst restoring a wonderful 18th century building to (if anything) more than its former glory.  My extra picture is of the refurbished function room on the upper floor, which is beautiful and an ideal place for any event. 

I read a very silly, negative piece about the SNP in Government and its effect on small towns in a newspaper recently, written by that persistent gloomy and exceptionally prejudiced  "SNP Bad" commentator  and former Labour MP Brian Wilson,.  Campbeltown is the antidote to that view - a small remote town that has been transformed over the past few years , and in which investment is still being made including in the new, permanent, summer ferry service. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.