Babies!

Well despite my statement of the 29th when I said that team members had told the best was empty they were proved wrong. I had originally seen a couple of eggs and it seems that all that Mallard had done was hide them well! As my colleague and I arrived at work this morning we saw the first couple of eggs hatch out wet and scraggly ducklings. By the end of the day I could see seven and I am fairly sure there are more than that behind her. I checked with the falconer who told me Mum will take the ducklings from the best to water either today or tomorrow. I will take the powershot tomorrow and hope they are still around.

Stayed late today to listen to a talk by the author Anne O'Brien about Queen Joan of Navarre. Next time I will sit nearer the front so that I can hear the whole talk! Maybe the seats will be more comfortable as well. What I did hear was interesting and I may see if I can get the book on audio.

I recently tested audio books for my journey in and out of work. So much better than the radio, I have rediscovered my love of books, just having them read to me instead of falling asleep over the written word! I always have read when I go to bed but over the last year or two just not managed more than a page or two before nodding off, and in fact given up altogether. I have 'read' five books in the last six weeks, using audible and also some books on disc that friend and fellow blipper 58jc lent to me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.