Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

City Bridges

Traffic was slow across the University Bridge this afternoon, I wasn’t driving, my camera was in my lap, so I thot I’d snap this bike rider.  I didn’t anticipate him dismounting right there.


We had been to an opera lecture on the upcoming Flying Dutchman (and then a grocery stop, making us way past the 3PM curfew we put on ourselves with the traffic in this town…). but the lecture by Seattle Opera’s Dramaturg, was worth it.  Sorry I didn't get his photo.  He is a fanatic Wagnerite and there could not be a more enthusiastic presentation.,   He did qualify that to love Wagner, one has to love over-the-top romanticism, mythic tales and motifs, and impossible theater!   Seattle is known for it’s Wagner operas, the Ring is performed every 4 years.  Flying Dutchman, his first,  was described today as being the “Gateway Drug” to Wagner’s operas, the best way to introduce anyone to Wagner… it also has the most accessible music (for a dramatic ghost story about “beauty and the beast” or land and sea, and is the shortest, 2 hours and 20 minutes, no intermission.  Will report next week after we see this Canadian production.

NO couch time today.. on the mend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.