The other side....

....of New York.

No matter what part of the city you visit, whether it's the high end shopping areas, the hotel district, central park or the suburbs you never seem to be more than a few metres away from a homeless person.

Anyone who follows my journal will know I interact with the less fortune people around parts of my home/local area back in England and capture their lives on my camera. Ahead of my trip to New York I thought about whether it would be something I'd do while out there. Obviously more hesitant in a foreign city and feeling less comfortable doing it, I saved it for the last day. This particular gentleman had just been given a cigarette by a passerby and I made eye contact with him to which he gave me the familiar nod of acceptance to my camera. Of course I put a couple of dollars in his bucket too which he was grateful after saying there was no need to pay for the photo.

Only half a day in the city as our flight back home was late afternoon but we did get chance to take in the delights of the famous Carlo's Bakery, damn their cakes are good.

So that's it, the end of a pretty epic holiday vacation, it's been a blast and I'd like to take this opportunity to thank Tony and Kath for the amazing generosity and good company along with Claire, Gemma, Gordon and Charlotte.

Work is going to be tough to return to.

Extras ------->   another unfortunate street person in amongst the spending area of New York and mounted police in amongst the hustle and bustle of Times Square.

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.