PhD winners

How I love my PhD students! Not only are they extremely hard-working and talented, but they also have a great sense of humour.

Over the past three days they have been away in the Highlands on a retreat where they have combined a bit of work (allegedly) with lots of outdoors fun. One of the exercises was for each student to give a 5-minute presentation using a set of (quite bizarre) props (including a teddy bear called Randolf). My student (and fellow blipper) LyndseyJ was judged joint winner of the competition for the best presentation, and here I blip her prize. The certificate was created by Frances, another one of my students. (If you would like to read more about the students' trip, Lyndsey has reviewed it on her blog.)

There is another reason why I am feeling proud of my charges. Between them in March they made eight submissions to an international conference that takes place in Croatia in September 2016. By lunchtime today we learnt that all the submissions have been accepted :-)

Exercise today: morning running loops in 29'51", sit-ups, weights and stretches, walk to work (12,070 steps) Xiv.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.