Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Voting today

I'm reluctant to get into politics on blipfoto but voting today is going to be the most important thing I do so it has to be the basis for my blip.
I haven't voted Labour for years - not since Tony Blair came on the scene - but although there's no chance of the Labour local council (Bradford) candidate getting elected (someone once commented that, in the village in which I live, if a blue-painted donkey was canvassing it would get the majority of votes), I'll be voting Labour today. Why?
It will be a protest vote. I protest at the lies told by Cameron and his cohort to persuade us to vote to stay in the EU; immigration from Europe is not a problem as far as I am concerned and I consider myself to be a British European, but I do not wish to be part of or ruled by the corrupt, undemocratic EU. I protest at the arrogant blackmailing tactics of the Health Minister who then has the audacity to accuse the junior doctors of blackmailing (and the clear intent to further 'privatise' the NHS). I protest at Cameron's promises to put the power back with the teachers then doing precisely the opposite. I protest at ... pretty much everything that the present Government has come to represent.
As for the Police and Crime Commissioner, if there was a candidate not representing a political party I'd vote for her/him, but there isn't so I will take no part in this election. Such a pity that the only female candidate represents the English Democrats as it would be good to see a woman in this role.
So, although the Labour Party insists on making itself completely ineffective, that is how I will vote as far as the local authority is concerned.
Rant for today over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.