Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Unexpected

Public holiday today and I enjoyed a lie-in! :)

Had things to do though, so up and practised for this afternoon's practice! G decided to join me on her recorder, and I was SO impressed when - having not played for nearly 3 years - she played the melody to a favourite hymn - note perfect and in the right scale! Smartie.

We then headed to the Party Shop. Ladies Tea at church next Friday and we are helping Marja with hosting a table, so having chosen a theme, went to buy some bits and pieces. It seemed to take forever, and there was only time to have a quick lunch, before racing home for me to collect my guitar and books and get to church.

Unfortunately, the keyboardist got held up due to an incident of a car accident, and couldn't join us at all. So, he is coming over early tomorrow morning to run through the songs! I raced home to hand the car to G so she could go to Awana!! Crazy!

I had just enough time to take a picture of "the garden" whilst the sun was doing it's magic on the branches. Unfortunately, you can't see it so well in this picture, but the reason I chose this image (and my title) is because... around 9pm, the doorbell rang. I answered to find a security guard with a clipboard handing out papers.

For the first time since these buildings were built (1984), action is being taken to tackle the severe parking problem that exists. 153 apartments, approximately 100 bays - none allocated, loads of businesses (mainly furniture!) and paid parking all around has really put a strain on the residents. G, who up to last week didn't have a street parking card, had to fight for space in the car park (on either side of this garden) only to find herself blocked in my people who felt it is their absolute right to park behind you (because they couldn't find a proper bay) and leave their number on their windscreen for you to phone when you want to leave. (Yes, really!) G has had several instances when the driver who blocked her in didn't answer his phone!

So, part of the solution is to install a barrier and give residents cards to access the parking area. It is still on a first come, first serve basis but it means that only residents (not businesses) will get priority. Cheeky tenants of adjacent buildings have been known to sneak in! This is quite incredible, and even more amazingly, they are not charging an arm and a leg for the facility.

And later, I set up G's keyboard in the front room, ready for tomorrow morning. It still works. She had fun testing it.

Oh, nearly forgot. The other reason for blipping this tree in the garden is because in the morning, G very excitedly wanted to show me how well "her" tree is doing in flowering... and "my" tree (the one in the blip) is ... well... a late bloomer, as I've said before. She says when "my" tree starts to flower, then it will become her tree! 8-|


PS. Thursdays are gardening days, so the grass was cut and there was general tidying done! That's why the lawn looks so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.