Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Jetty

Catching up with Bank Holiday Monday blip.

I treated myself to a day out in Morecambe, where else for a Bank Holiday Monday than the seaside?

To be fair, the weather was much better than this picture represents as within half an hour of jumping off the train the rain had passed over, heading in the direction from which I came. Nine hours of sunshine, probably more than I managed in the whole of April.

While I avoided the Lancaster Uni tradition of spending my second year in a Morecambe seaside flat, preferring the delights of an isolated bungalow in Cockerham instead, I spent a fair bit of time here over my nine Lancaster years, variously gigging, sunning, demonstrating, WOMADing, delivering expert testimony at the Town Hall and one long successful summer of picketing Marineland to secure the release of Rocky the dolphin. 

Today I was after wildlife though, so I bussed out to Bolton le Sands and walked back the five miles or so along the saltmarsh, Bay and beach. The tide was out, so so were most of the waders for which Morecambe Bay is famous, but I came across Shelduck, Ringed Plover, Redshank and Golden Plover along the way, as well as a couple of Wheatear next to the promenade,  No butterflies though, too windy.

See extras for the wilder side, and the required Midland Hotel and Eric Morecambe statue photos, but the pleasing symmetry of the view from the end of the Stone Jetty wins out as my image of the day. 

Other photos from the day will end up here as and when I get a chance to sort them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.