Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Still making her mark

Four years ago I posted a photograph of Bella making some of her first marks on paper. Today Bella told me, “I need a diary with a lock on it.” I asked no questions about what thoughts a five-year-old could possibly need to maintain under lock and key but took her directly to Powell’s to find what she “needed.” Back at home, I asked if I could make a photograph of her decorating her first diary (with a lock on it) and she gave me permission.


Tonight Bella’s mom and brother returned from New York, setting me free again. As we were waiting for the elevator, I said, “We had a great week, didn’t we!” And she answered, “The best ever!” I am cross-eyed with exhaustion though hoping to get up early for a momentous social justice event in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.