Taken the plunge--applied for Voluntary Redundancy

"Come to the edge," he said.
"We can't, we're afraid!" they responded.
"Come to the edge," he said.
"We can't, We will fall!" they responded.
"Come to the edge," he said.
And so they came.
And he pushed them.
And they flew.

Thanks to dwalletta for sharing the above quote with me. Perfect. 

Oh, there is so much that I could have said about this but I will resist as it would come across as very bitter but if you zoom in on the picture and keep in mind that HPE is the abbreviation for the name of the company that I work for, you will know how I feel about it.

This is the biggest gamble of my life. I'm giving up a well paid job with a decent pension because I believe that they will make me redundant before I reach retirement age anyway and may well do so on less favourable terms than I can get my going of my own accord now. If I find a comparable job then arguably I have lost nothing regardless of whether or not my hunch was right, but if I don't.........?

If I sound sad, I am but I have no regrets. In the circumstance this was the only decision that I could make but so many people have come to the same conclusion (almost the entire team that I belong to) that I now fear that some are going to be turned down. I hope I am not one of them because I don't see how I can just carry on as though none of this had ever happened.

Bring on the weekend. I need to party hard and as luck would have it, we have friends round for dinner on Saturday so I can do just that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.