Orchid season continues.....

So sorry for the back blip, but the walk out over the South downs to photograph these little beauties has left me with loads of pain in my hips, knees and ankles! I think it is a combination of my bad knee causing me to walk without any fluidity thus hurting my other joints, and possibly a bug that is going around at the moment. Whatever way, I feel better this evening, and I know I will feel even better after a nights sleep.
This tiny (about 2 inch high) perfect miniature beauty is the Early spider orchid Ophrys sphegodes,  found mainly on the south coast of England primarily in Dorset, Sussex and Kent in this case at Castle Hill NR near Brighton. Because of their tiny size they are quite difficult to see, and can be easily overlooked.
Mr U&L and I took Freddy on this trip with us, he behaved very well until he rolled in a fresh cow pat! .... the joys of Basset hound ownership!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.