Kit Foxes

My timing has been a bit off all day. I woke up early and would have finished my e-book, but my iPad decided, 30 pages before the end of the book, one of a series of mysteries that take place in Venice, that I WAS finished. Instead of the concluding pages of About Face  by Donna De Leon, I found myself unceremoniously booted off and the book electronically placed back on its virtual bookshelf. 

The hot tub was more of a tepid tub, because the heating timer has never been reset to Daylight Savings Time and it hadn't yet begun its morning warm up. It took OilMan and me ages to agree on the ideal temperature, but when it became apparent that he was never going to get in it, I turned the temperature up. I forgot, however, to change the timer.

Over coffee with my friend from Pilates, I heard her tales of chicks in the family room. Her husband wanted chickens,  built a chicken coop and got 6 chicks from Western Farm Supply (conveniently near Flying Goat Coffee) but has been out of town almost ever since, leaving my friend with chicks which have to be kept warm until they have all their feathers. This is done with lights which make them think it is always daylight making sleep a rare commodity.

Driving home I turned onto Los Alamos and did a quick double take when what I thought was a cat hanging around the storm drain turned out to be a fox. I parked the car and walked across the street thinking that it would be long gone, when a little head popped up and started looking around. It would pop back in whenever a car came by, but didn't seem to be very frightened by me. When a second head popped up, I realized that they were just babies and that Mom had probably stashed them in the storm drain with instructions to stay there, but like all children, they couldn't resist coming out the moment Mom's back was turned….

A woman driving past stopped and told me that she had been watching them and had seen at least three kits right there on (or perhaps I should say under) Los Alamos, the official urban/rural interface. I put a picture of one of them emerging from the ditch to show off its coloring in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.