Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

How Hard Can It Be?

Many years ago, time was cheap and readily available - in bucket loads. Before the days of young children and the significant delights and responsibilities that go with them, I'd spend time fixing my own car, changing the oil, replacing pads and all the rest. I even changed an engine and embarked on the restoration of an MG.

These days, the car takes a visit to the dealer for such things and the children having arrived before the MG was finished, gave me the perfect excuse to convert it into a fist full of pound notes. It languished in the garage for a good long time, like an unloved and forgotten toy, the hours upon hours of affection and attention it once enjoyed, were being lavished elsewhere. It had to go (to a more deserving family).

All those years ago, bikes were simple too. Brakes had cables for instance. Admittedly, they didn't do very much in the way of actual stopping, so perhaps its best that they became more sophisticated. Even so, a push bike ought to be something a hands on DIY mechanic out to be able to tackle without too much difficulty. But no I decided. time is too short, I'll take it to the experts. Were it not for a less than accommodating cycle workshop, the bike would now be returned from its service, front brake bled and working again and the bottom bracket replaced for a freer running bearing cartridge, one which wasn't so hell bent on impersonating the straining ships rigging of an 18th century schooner at every revolution of the crank.

'Sorry mate. The workshop is crammed full. You'll have to bring it in over the weekend.'

Friends in my experience, especially mates tend to help each other out. This is not a good start 'mate'. I'm away all weekend and although I didn't know it, would be working way after your workshop closed on Monday.

So this morning, after another creaking and semi-brakeless 10 miles ride, I decided that I would do it myself, with perhaps a bit of help from a friend. After all, how hard can it be? To be frank, I have absolutely no idea as to the answer, but time will tell. I do know however that bikeradar.com and wiggle.co.uk have ample information on the subject.

Now is that an inline or radial reservoir? Hmmmm. *chin scratching moment*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.