Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

S is for ... #Savethesurprise

This evening saw the Technical Rehearsal of the Olympics Opening Ceremony and OMG I was there!!! I can't quite believe that we were amongst the first 60,000 members of the public in the whole world to see this and it was a blast!

Danny Boyle, the brains, inspiration and drive behind the opening ceremony asked us all to keep any photos we took under wraps until after the main event on Friday.. Predictably, not everyone on twitter managed to resist the urge, whilst others berated them for spoiling it.

The Guardian focused on the animal rights issues "12 horses, three cows, two goats, 10 chickens, 10 ducks, nine geese, 70 sheep and three sheepdogs would be part of the opening scene, animal rights campaigners claimed it could breach the Animal Welfare Act by subjecting them to undue distress." Danny Boyle assured Peta that "genuine care will be taken of the animals" who "will feature only in the very beginning of the show during daylight hours and will leave the stadium shortly after the 9pm start and before any large effects or noisy sequences take place".

Indeed their part was a significant yet small in the whole story. The rest, I will not comment on. I will not be drawn. I will not waver. By Friday, I may well change the Blipfoto image and post the rest on Flickr. But for now, I will #savethesurprise.

EDIT: The secret is officially out. I've changed the pic - go LARGE, this place is massive!!

There are more in the LONDON 2012 set!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.