Kotuku......

.....also known as White Heron.

I stood on the waters edge listening to the waves roll in as the sunrise unfolded. Bright and golden with tinges of pink filled the sky while the sea mist looked white against the ranges in the distance. Again I experienced steam rising from the sea as the sun broke the horizon, again I mumbled how difficult it was to capture.

With the warmth of the sun upon my back I strolled over to the estuary where the sounds of 'pop', 'pop-pop', echoed from the guns, duck shooting season has started. Some were quite loud, more like a 'boom' and made me jump several times, of course it was just as I had pushed the shutter on the camera, some very failed shots were taken. But still it was pleasant and I was pleased I'd made the effort to get up early.

No surprise lots of ducks of various kinds on the estuary, pied stilts, white-faced herons, banded dotterel, godwits and two other surprises.

I was so excited to see the little Kaki - black stilt, Himantopus novaezelandiae, near the water's edge. I did get some shots but I'm disappointed, my lens is simply not long enough. The Kaki is the world's rarest wading bird and is endemic to New Zealand and is close to distinction. They seem to be settling into life on the Ashley River which is great as otherwise only found round Twizel area in the South Island.

My other surprise was this Kotuku, Egretta alba modesta or White heron, they are protected and native to New Zealand. Although the eye area is not very clear I'm delighted with the light through the wing tips and the power and form of this elegant bird. I watched for ages, so long my arms started to ache and then I found a post to balance the camera on, of course I was there until my tummy rumbled and I remembered I hadn't had breakfast. Kotuku wasn't having much luck finding any food so he eventually flew away and I headed home for brunch and a hot cuppa.

I've added some extras:
Sunrise - never disappoints and always different
White Heron - love this shot
Kaki - disappointed with the shot but had to record it

Amazing time down at the estuary today - Happy Saturday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.