Shooting Star Starshoot Sleepover

What a great night we had, especially considering we thought it was going to be a complete washout smoke out star wise.

BeckettGemax59 and I were all up by 4am photographing the night sky at our farm.

For 59 and me it was our first attempt at a star shoot. We are pretty pleased with the results and learnt a lot.

There were supposed to be lots of meteors on the occasion of the Eta Aquarid Meteor Shower.
We only saw a few with the naked eye (maybe because we were concentrating too hard on our cameras) but on looking at some of the images you can see meteors that were probably not visible without a telescope.
In this picture they look like little tadpoles. At least I think these are meteors :-)
On second thoughts, I am not so sure. Maybe they are just nearer stars showing some movement. Does anyone know?

Anyway we all had a great time and plan more star sleepovers and some lightpainting. Next time I'd like to try some star trails too.

And next time we may just be able to do it straight after dark without having to wait for a special 4am "event".

For those Blackheath Blippers who missed the fun I have uploaded more than my usual number of extras (in low resolution so hopefully they load a bit faster).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.