Hrubieszowianka

By hrubieszowianka

Habit No 1

I like teas, not black ones i.e. normal tea, although I used to drink it and experiment with various kinds, flavours, even flavouring them myself. There are lovely tea shops in Poland, with dozens of varieties of teas. All mostly loose leaf. Leaves mixed with dried fruit, dried flowers, aromatic oils, whatever you could think of.
When I was in high school, a friend of mine and I could get through 2 big pots of tea in one sitting. I think it must have been ca 5 mugs each. It did give me sleepless nights, as you'd expect. So I started drinking fruit teas and herbal teas. Fruit ones are a bit sour, smell better than taste, but are hot and sometimes a bit sweet. And sweetness is what tigers like most.
Herbal teas don't usually taste nice, maybe with 1 exception - mint tea. They work for many complaints though and are worth trying. After a few weeks you get used to the particular flavour and what was a medicine becomes a normal drink. I started with wild pansy flower, it was supposed to prevent acne. Maybe it did, I'll never know. I drank salvia tea to stop milk production (sorry for detail) and try to drink nettle tea for it's anti-inflammatory and diuretic properties - it is not very pleasant.
Then I've found green tea. It is so healthy, you can't no drink it. But it is bitter. And it makes some people sick in their stomach. Not me. I drink hectolitres of it. The best one is with lemon, it is also the most efficient way of drinking it, all goodness is absorbed better with the lemon.
In the meantime I met a few South Africans, who introduced me ot Rooibos. It is red, looks a bit like normal tea, but contains no caffeine. Lovely. It smells like honey, for some it smells like Christmas and for other like fag ends.
Recently Rooibos placed in our supermarket green Rooibos, which is even better, healthier and not bitter taste. Antioxidants fill my vains nearly every day now.
And last, but not least experimental mixtures, like Pukka teas provide. Licorice & peppermint is like a dessert. I make a pint size mug every night.
I am no expert in teas, I just like them and drink them. Some of my friends complained in the past that it's not easy to come and have a cup of tea at my place, you always had to make a complicated choice.
The blip present current home selection. At work there is a different set, which includes white tea (tops of the tea bush, even better then green tea). White tea causes many misunderstandings amongs my colleagues. We take turns to make a cuppa. So when I feel like white tea, I have to go into an elaborate explanation that it is not tea with milk, it is tea called white tea and please just put hot water and leave the teabag in. I've noticed that over the years many people have learnt to accept my strange habit, learnt how to make my teas and some adventurous ones had a taste or two. This is my little way of sabotaging this traditional country.
I hope all this narrative will compensate for the lack of a decent photo. It was between self portrait (new haircut), snowy street and a macro of a minature doll, which fits into my daughters shoe heel. I tell you, you've been lucky to get the tea boxes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.