Saturday Scrapbook: Black & White - Toon Army

My Saturday Scrapbook challenge today is "Black and White". So I thought, "Should I just do a monochrome photo of something?...No!" Being a Geordie I really had no alternative but to take my camera to St James's Park for a Toon Army photograph in support of our local Magpies, Newcastle United!

Please view the photo large for best effect. It needed a bit of tweaking with "Perspective Warp" in Photoshop to make it look right in the photo, as the plaque is actually mounted on a curved wall.

Now a confession. In spite of being a Geordie I've never had much interest in football. When I was 21 (more years ago than I care to calculate!) I was told by a friend that I couldn't call myself a proper Geordie unless I'd been to a match at St James's Park. So I let him take me to one - against Sheffield Wednesday. The match was a 0-0 draw until the 89th minute when Sheffield scored. I've never been back since...!    ;-))

However, out of local loyalty, if I were a supporter then I'd support Newcastle. Regrettably I understand that they're on the cusp of being relegated out of the Premier League, having had a goal-less draw playing away against Aston Villa this afternoon. As I understand it, if Sunderland win against Everton on Wednesday then Newcastle has no hope of staying up (no doubt someone will correct me if I'm wrong). What a shame!

The first extra is the corner of the ground with the statue of our local hero, the late Bobby Robson. The second extra is a rare sight: a black-and-white Coca-Cola sign outside the ground - it's actually a colour photo, but there's no red on it at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.