Green-winged orchid

I feel a lot better today, so I decided to go to one of the local churchyards about 9 miles from where I live to see if it's good population of Green-winged orchids Anacamptis morio, were  in flower
I visited about a week ago, and I was really disappointed to find only one or two flower spikes, but today there were loads! mostly dark magenta/purple with white spots on the lip, but a couple were paler in colour, and this one I chose to blip was a really delicious pale pink.
The Green-winged orchid is similar to it's more common cousin the Early purple orchid,  but can be identified by the pale green un-spotted leaves, and the 'green wings' or green veins in the hood tepals of the flower. It is an orchid of unimproved grassland such as old cemeteries and churchyards.
I have also included a shot of the beautiful Lunar marbled brown moth Drymonia ruficornis, I caught in my trap last night......it gave me quite a run around as it was sitting about 12 feet up the house wall, and I had to go up the ladder to bag it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.