Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Opening Day of Boating

I don’t think it could be a nicer day for the opening day of boating in the PNW, always the first saturday in May.   H and I took a leisurely long walk to the Montlake bridge where we saw  part of  of the crew races from the south side and on the bridge.   Both mountain ranges east and west were out in their glory.    It’s weird to not belong to a club this year, but I do like to watch kids row.  The photo is something new to me and a bit wierd so thot I’d blip it.… a screen on the north side near the finish to show the whole of the 2000 meter race.  We ended up there to  to watch the final race between the UW, Stanford and Russia…amidst the biggest crowd.    The screen is showing Stanford in the foreground, then Russia, then the UW, who did pull ahead with open water after this to win. 10 in a row.  Stanford second.  There was also a colored finish line in the water which I don’t remember before this year.  The women's UW won over San Diego and Cambridge.  (The Cambridge boat is in Flickr)


It was so colorful I’m  putting a set on flickr….including some shots of the parade- my favorite is the fireboat who manages to spray the crowd depending on the wind.… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.