Skip's Blips

By Skip

Yellow warbler

I was walking in Chagrin River Park with Randy so he could show me where he sees the rose-breasted grosbeaks and Baltimore orioles. Unfortunately we didn't see the grosbeaks, but we did see some orioles. I'm sure Randy got good pictures of the orioles, but they were too far away for me to capture with my lens. Instead, on the way back to my car, I saw this beauty and took several pictures of him. 

I posted the other two pictures as today's extra photos. According to my iBird app, these little yellow birds have a wider range than any other North American warbler and live on a diet of insects, larvae, and some fruit. The streaks on his breast indicate that this bird is a male.

One other thing I picked up on today's trail walk was ticks...two of them, crawling on my sweat pants. It's a bad year for ticks, so if you live in this area and are going to be in the woods or on the trails, be sure to check your legs (and other body parts too) to make sure you aren't providing transportation for these unwelcome insects. I have to admit they give me the creeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.