Mother's Day, 1956

Dear Diary,

It is wonderful to be here at the Genesis Center on Mother's Day with all the flowering trees in bloom and the lilacs sending out their heavenly scent as I walk by.  I love this photograph of me and Mom.  My father was really photographing her but I got into the photograph in my own way.  Hard to believe it was 60 years ago!

I have my last session this morning and after lunch I will make the 5+ hour ride home but the sun is shining and everyone is so upbeat.  It has been a wonderful experience.  I can't wait to get home to see Emerson though.  My friend has been visiting every day to not only feed and water him but to sit and snuggle and play with him which he needs every bit as much as the food and water.

We need those things too and I've felt like I've had a playful as well as enriching weekend here doing what I love to do - make art - with people who are very supportive and encouraging.  I will return home refreshed.

“Art doesn’t have to be pretty. It has to be meaningful.” ~Duane Hanson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.