A Blank Slate

Dear Diary,

The retreat was wonderful but it was good to get home late yesterday afternoon and see my Emerson!  The yard received its first mow while I was gone and everything is looking so nice and neat!  Best of all, the sun is shining!  It was a grey, rainy weekend.

This is the back of my studio, my "blank slate", just waiting for the planting and mulching.  I added three more steps as the slope is a bit tricky to negotiate.  Now I just have to go and get the perennials!   I am going to try a new nursery that has been recommended to me this week.
Picking out plants is always so much fun!

My big concern in this new space is disguising the air conditioner and heater vent.  I am thinking a trellis of some kind but it must be able to be removed in the winter since the snow comes off the roof and would destroy it.  And I will need to get a fairly big planter for that awkward concrete square where the old steps use to end.  Decisions, decisions!

Having a blank slate is sometimes as daunting as it is exciting.
Joe Madureira

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.