Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Bluebells in Stereo

Talking to Mum on the phone this morning she reminded me of a photographic technique I tried out years ago, and wondered whether my new camera was capable of doing it.  The technique in question is creating a Stereoscope, i.e. a 3D photgraph, and the answer is of course "Yes".  Pretty well any camera, with a photo editor capable of cropping and/or resizing,  can be used to create the effect. 

Anyway, that said I thought I'd better prove myself correct, and settled down this afternoon taking some shots of the bluebells in my garden.  I used Photoshop with a template I made back in 2010, but once I remembered the steps it was all fairly straight forward.

The whole idea stems from a book my parents gave me for Christmas 2009, "A Village Lost and Found" by Brain May (of the rock group Queen fame) and Elena Vidal based on stereo photos taken in the 1850's by T.R.Williams.  The book came with a patented viewer, the Owl, and included instructions on how to take your own (basically take 2 photos, one standing on the left foot and one standing on the right, and position them side by side to create a picture around 6ins by 3ins).

More details about the technique and company should you feel the urge to try yourselh can be found here: http://www.londonstereo.com/

The main blip shows one of the photo pairs used - the stereoscope card produced is in extras.  If you recall the "Magic Eye" pictures popular around about the same time and could see the images, then the same technique may work here. I used my Owl to check the effect on the PC, but in the past have managed to view in 3D without it by zooming out - but it may not work at all on Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.