Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Memories of Farnborough 2

The office I work in in Farnborough is closing down and my project is being moved to an alternative site some 50 odd miles away.  So it's about time I "snap" those views I see most days on the way to work and think "Could make a good Blip" while it's convenient to do so.  Last week I posted a shot of the old Aircraft Hanger.

Today was the turn of St Michael's Abbey, which marks the centre of a small Benedictine community.  The Abbey was founded in 1881 by the Empress Eugénie (1826–1920) as a mausoleum for her late husband Napoleon III (1808–1873), and their son the Prince Imperial (1856–1879), both of whom rest in the Imperial Crypt, along with Eugénie herself, all in granite sarcophagi provided by Queen Victoria.  It also holds the Catholic National Library; one of the finest collections of Catholic books in England.


Despite working in Farnborough for many years (and living locally), I'm a little ashamed to say I've never visited it, and really should take advantage one of the weekly tours some day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.