Enjoying the Sunshine

I could easily have spent the afternoon with all the other people enjoying today's lovely weather, sitting in the courtyard of Somerset  House watching the fountains.  However, I was there to visit the Sony World Photography Awards Exhibition.

It was a very large exhibition, and required a lot of visiting time to do it justice.  The "Professional" section I found the least entertaining (I didn't understand or appreciate some of the images) but the "Open" competition was generally very enjoyable.  (I said much the same last year).

The layout of the exhibition was a little strange too, in my opinion.  Sometimes, images from a single sequence were separated and shown in different parts of the room, or even different rooms - which is rather odd when they were submitted as a single sequence.  Other pictures appeared more than once in different parts of the exhibition, for reasons which weren't obvious to me.  Some of the captions gave full information, but others didn't even mention for which part of the competition the images were entered.  Several of the captions had typos, or were simply incomplete (eg ending mid sentence).  So, although it was an exhibition well worth visiting, it could have been a lot better.

Generally, a good day out, though, if rather warm and tiring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.