Aerobatics

Took HH to the club and Kayla came along for the ride. We went for a longish walk – K on the lead, which was no fun for her, but she won’t come when she’s called, so needs must. Naturally, I had camera in hand, and spent ages watching this humming bird perform his act and trying to focus on the right spot. Last Sunday, I blipped some of these African Tulip tree flowers on the ground – this is the same tree. Later, another hummer came along and seemed to go through a stretching routine in a branch – but that’s another tale.
 
The next excitement was when another dog-mad friend turned up and encouraged me to adopt the wary black stray that has been roaming the course for months. He let us get near enough to scratch his head, but once the lead appeared, we couldn’t get close even when the cook produced some bread as bait. Eventually, Valerio returned from overseeing a big Mothers’ Day lunch and slipped the noose round Lowry’s neck (Lowry because he reminds me of figures in a Lowry painting). Barbara helped me bundle him into the car with Kayla and we brought him home. Once here, he seemed quite happy and followed me round the garden, but gave me a fright later. I put him on a long lead while I came in to do the washing up, and when I looked out, he had slipped out of the harness and disappeared. I went looking for him in the car, afraid of what might happen to him on the road if he tried to make his way back to the club, but no sign. However, arriving back home despondent and sans dog, this black shadow appeared out of nowhere.
 
He’s had some supper and I’m going to take a chance of his sticking around – no point in tying him up if he can slip out of the harness, and I don’t have a spare collar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.