Sporticus

By don_T

Fort York, early 1800s

A very lovely Mother's Day. Breakfast in bed followed by a bike to the pool for some laps. Luckily I came in the door just as the rain started. We then hopped in the car and drove in to Toronto to tour Fort York. We have wanted to see it since we moved here almost 10 years ago and this was a great opportunity. Being mother's day there were very few visitors and we basically had a private tour. My sweetie is a Canadian history major Bachelor of Arts, so this was really up his alley. I loved the kitchen and chat with the knowledgeable kitchen staff. After tasting the gingerbread cookies I purchased their period piece cook book. When we arrived back home I jumped back in the kitchen and made butterhorn pastries, cinnamon buns, 2 very unusual salads, masses of roast root vegetables and avacado chocolate pudding. It was a great mother's day doing my favorite things, I was offered a dinner out but preferred to spend time in my kitchen making my comfort favorite recipes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.