Third_eye

By Third_eye

PECULIAR!

 

This peculiar looking machine bearing the name "Old Peculier" (sic!) was on display at the Museum of East Anglian Life in  Stowmarket, which I visited on their Traction Day yesterday.

A steam tractor, made by Aveling & Porter in 1923, it stood out from a large gathering of later diesel powered tractors.  It is also used at the museum for driver experience courses for anyone interested in learning this now almost fotgotten skill.

It was a good day out although the sudden (welcome!) change in the weather was just a little too warm for me after such a long period of intense cold here and as I no longer drive I found it rather tiring after a long journey out into the countryside by public transport, which is now also a seriously endangered species!

My extras today - more from this visit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.