Hebridean Sky

A gloriously sunny and warm day today. A cruise ship was docked on the North Pier - she proved to be the Hebridean Sky, one of the Noble Caledonia fleet.

Previously known as the Sea Explorer, the vessel underwent a multi-million pound refurbishment in Sweden last month before being re-launched as the MS Hebridean Sky and beginning her new life operating mostly in Northern Europe, South America and Antarctica.  I thought it was bad luck to change a ship's name, but they obviously thought it worth the risk!

I sat down on the quayside to take a picture - which I've used as my extra today - when I was approached by a small lady wearing a hi-vis vest labelled 'Security' and asked to move away. 'Health & Safety issues - if a rope was to break it could take your head off', she said. I wondered whether it was worth telling her that the ship had just had a a multi-million pound refit and might have even had the mooring ropes replaced, but decided against it. She was only doing her job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.