Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Goose

I've never eaten a goose - never had the urge! He didn't know that!!

It was that time in the morning when the only traffic on the lanes consisted of wood pigeons, crows and rabbits with some sort of death wish, as I headed to the river. Where the Cheltenham College Boathouse grounds had been underwater a week ago it was now back to normal. Geese, swans and ducks lined the banks.

As I pottered over to the water the flock of ducks en masse shot up river and the swans sidled to the opposite side - leaving me on the boatyard slipway with a gaggle of geese intent on guarding their territory. I'm a bit wary of geese and did wonder if I was doing the right thing as they menacingly came towards me. Poised for flight with camera gear in hand and ready with the car keys - I thought my goose could be cooked here!
They seemed to quickly get used to the idea of me being there though and amazingly let me sit down, nose to beak keeping a weather eye open, not liking the camera shutter as you can see in the image. I took loads of shots but this one is a little quirky and not everyday you get to see up a goose nostril! Having said that, not everyday you would want to!! A very close encounter - a first for me.

Glad it wasn't a wild goose chase................ :)

I think he looks better in larger view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.