That Cheerio-Song of the Terns

I’ve named them my Freedom Fighters. Long time ago I discovered them around the Zandmotor Laguna: the Terns. Their cheerful fishing song, whilst skimming, turning and diving into the rippling streams. Always together. That is really great acrobatics, swift and elegant. The high-pitched cheerio’s of their voices. You know I love and admire these wonderful creatures. I can’t help it, but they fill my heart with utmost happiness.


Today again we crossed over to the Peninsula together. Immediately at the point you could see this bunch of terns. Standing, singing, chatting, flying off and on. I really needed some extra time to follow them on their fishing trips. While I joined my Freedom Fighters, Willemien sat in the sand waiting for me. And I sat down at her side to listen to the rustling of the strong wind over the surf waves.

Together we walked to the South until we were dizzy from the bright sunlight. Against the wind we walked back. Purified, sandblast and dizzy we reached the main beach. And long after returning home we could hear that Cheerio-song. You don’t need to listen into a shell to hear it. It sticks in you inner ear like sandgrains.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.