The Woolwich Ferry is very underwhelming.
As a young kid I can remember my parents taking us on it a lot, why I don't know - maybe just for a trip out.
Anyway in my head the trip lasted 30 minutes and there was fantastic views of London across the Thames.

I went back on the Ferry for the first time as an adult a few years back.
The trip takes 5 minutes, it links one of the poorest parts of East London, (North Woolwich), to one of the poorest parts of South London, (Woolwich), and the views are rubbish.
To give you a clue to how bad Woolwich is, not far from where the Ferry docks is where Lee Rigby was murdered and the school I had to visit there had its own Policemen based full time on site, with their own office.
Seriously - I've been to some rough places but never been to a school that had 2 policemen constantly on site!!

Today I foolishly followed my satnav, and instead of going through the Blackwall Tunnel I found myself in the queue for the Ferry.
Once in the queue its impossible to get off so I rolled with it and took this picture of one of the Woolwich Ferries coming in to dock

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.