The Boleyn - The Farewell

This was it.
After 112 years, West Ham played their last ever game at The Boleyn Stadium.
Personally I have rarely missed a game for over 40 years here so today was a very sad one for me.
Before games I would always visit my Nan who lived 2 miles away in Canning Town. I still do, but now she's in East London Cemetery.

Although a sad occasion, today was a fitting send off to our old home. There were fireworks, and in a thrilling game we came from behind to beat Manchester United 3-2.

I couldn't pick one photo from the 200+ I had taken today, and struggled to even get it down to 6 for a collage, but these photos sum up the day for me.
The top right is me before the game (in the oversized T-Shirt everyone had on their chair) and the bottom left is me with the ground behind me for the very last time about 2 hours after the final whistle.
In between there are the fireworks, Kick off and the Bobby Moore statue outside the ground with Bobby in a West Ham scarf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.