Bluebells on the Hillside

The weather forecast was set fair for this morning, so when I woke up at 5.30 am, I decided to take advantage of the 'golden hour,' and headed off to The Outwoods with Basil to find out if the bluebells were still looking good.

Cloud drifted in, so I didn't get enough of those golden light shots. The bluebells clad everything, and in truth, I think they have just passed their peak.

Home by 8.30 and decided to get an emergency appointment with a doctor about my eye, which has been bothering me since March. It's red, stings, and vision is a bit dodgy, plus I have to wear sunglasses in strong sunlight.

I was very pleased to get a lady doctor who I trust. She told me immediately that I have Iritis and packed me off to Eye Casualty at Leicester Royal Infirmary straight away.

I asked Len for a bacon sandwich and a lift to LRI, arriving at the clinic just before 12.30. It was warm and stuffy today and I hadn't had much sleep. I nodded off in the waiting area and almost missed being called by the nurse.

Various nurses called me in at different times for spurious checks until I finally got to see a doctor at 4.15. I left the clinic with a prescription for steroid eyedrops at 4.30. I got the impression that he wasn't 100% sure about the diagnosis. When I told him that the antibiotic ointment I'd been prescribed for conjunctivitis before we'd gone away to Morocco had really inflamed the eye, he seemed a little happier.

No hot water in the taps over the sinks. In the operating theatres, they have to go outside to scrub up, which is far from ideal.

A refreshing cuppa at the WRVS and then buses into town and to Shepshed arriving home at 7.30 to release Basil from confinement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.