Violas

I'm rather fond of violas. Here they are in serried ranks at Thornton Nurseries, whither I'd gone in search of flowers for our summer containers.

Pert and perky, they seem steadfastly resolute, and remarkably individual. Not one is exactly the same as another.

I'm not quite sure what I've done here, other than perhaps not focusing far enough into the frame. The dof is very narrow despite my using a wide angle lens.

I didn't buy any in the end as I'd come in search of 'black' petunias and trailing geraniums. I like trailing plants in the containers.

Basil was not impressed at having to be left in the car so I wasn't free to linger as I viewed the display. Nor stop for a cup of tea.

A marvellous morning of singing Puccini at Judy's followed by a cuppa at Sue's. Judy will be going to watch Opera North's production of Turandot in Leeds on Friday. She told me it has a five star review in The Times. I said the ending was weak, but perhaps that's not surprising because Puccini died before he could write it. A huge shame.

I asked Judy if she'd known an Opera North singer called Jane Anthony, who'd given me a lesson while I was in Oman. Judy had. Sadly, Jane died a few years ago shortly after her husband had been ill for such a long time. Grief?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.