Canon vs Fuji

Not strictly true as the results depend on the lens used. Finally got my act together and set up the mini studio in the corner of the living room to try out some flower photography.

This pink gerbera, which was in a bunch of flowers that Sue gave me over a week ago, has survived remarkably well, but was wilting. I cut the stalk under running water and put it in a small vase until ready. Amazing to see that the stalk had stiffened itself again with the input of water. I put it in a plamp to take the photos. It's back in its vase now.

Today's shot was taken with my Canon camera using a wide angle lens. Cheating really as it wasn't a fair comparison with the Fuji at all. I like the wide angle lens because it's bright and sharp. And what a lovely flower.

Then I tried the Fuji with the Lens Baby. Oh dear, see extra. Quality just isn't there, which goes to show. I already have macro lenses for the Canon so am not intending to get a macro lens for the Fuji. I think white balance also affected the results. I used Daylight on the Canon and Sun/Shade on the Fuji. This is responsible for the different colours.

I should also have put the Fuji on the tripod like I did the Canon.

Not such a good night. Sometimes I feel I'm a bit part actor in a film directed and produced by my leg. I have to get up and walk about when it tells me to.  Just can't quite get rid of the pins and needles/cramp. Continuing to take full doses of paracetamol which leave me feeling dull. We've been using a bag of petits pois as an ice press for the last week. It smothers the sting to some extent. I hate to think what the peas will be like in a week's time.

We did go to Swithland Woods yesterday. Glorious weather and lots of bluebells. Here's a double exposure I took using the lens baby lens.

This afternoon, we went up to Oakley Grange cafe to enjoy a cup of tea and sit outside. Inger was out somewhere in the lambing sheds. A lot of lambs this year.

Oh, and I think fellow blippers will be interested in this article: Study finds shooting and sharing one photo per day improves wellbeing from Digital Photography Review. It's the community that does it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.