Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

The touch of your hand

The morning after the night (and day) before....

Yesterday was definitely the calm if this morning is anything to go by. Fortunately though, I had the forethought to ask Auntie G for her help to get the girls up and ready for school this morning.

I had an unsettled night's sleep myself and didn't manage to get up as early as I had hoped.

Auntie G arrived at 7am and very carefully attempted to wake the girls up. DM was the first to get up, P stirred, but there were no movements whatsoever from R & Aj.

While Auntie G helped DM get washed, I offered Mummy cuddles to anyone who wanted to get out of bed, the only movement came from P.

Between 7.15am and 8.30am there wasn't a moment without tears. At least one of the girls were crying, DM about the fact that Kylo (our 6 month old border collie pup) wasn't interested in having her have a cuddle with him, R because she didn't want anyone else to do her jobs but she couldn't do them because she wasn't getting dressed, P because she wanted to take two things into school but only actually had one and Aj, just because.

In my defence though, I didn't shout or scream, I didn't lose my temper or make any threat; I knew this was the after effects of a six week dance show build up and a late night dance show last night.

I wasn't stressed or anxious about running late, because I knew Auntie G was with us and that she had my back. I was able to take the time to focus on the one who needed me, whilst the others were getting the help from Auntie G.

I rang the school and forewarned them about the heightened emotions and explained that if it got too much, I'd have them at home.

As it was, they stayed at school, had a lovely day, came home and we all settled on the settee together and watched a movie. They all wanted a piece of me, and it was amazing to feel that loved and cherished.

I know that my girls bicker and fight and they know which buttons to press to get a response from Peach or I. However I know that I love each of them with every bit of my heart. I love the way that DM is caring and attentive, I love to hear R's proper little belly laugh, I love the crazy little bubble world that P lives in and I love the random little chats I have with Aj. I could go on for days on the way I love each and every little thing about them, but ultimately my love for them is endless.

The touch of their hand makes my heart melt and it's like switching on a reminder of my eternal love for them .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.