Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Bench re-visited

Archie gave us another fright in the wee sma' hours. He suddenly started coughing/retching/gasping for breath! In my haste to leap out of bed, I hurt my knee - it sort of twanged at the back - so that when I got to him, I couldn't help him much, but just stood holding on to the wall, moaning quietly. Just as well JR was there to kneel down with him. He settled quickly. Then had another attack. Then he slept.

Two more coughing spasms during the morning, before we set off to the vet. Kennel Cough? But he'd just had a nasal spray to prevent this. The vet wasn't too worried, his temperature is fine, and the attacks aren't very frequent. She gave me some 'Metacam'. Actually, it's for Archie...

We had a big walk round the university campus before our vet appointment because I mis-timed the bus. What a lovely area those lucky students get to learn in.

Archie is always SO excited to be at the vet's - the prospect of meeting another dog outweighs any uncomfortable things the vet will do to him. Today there was a huge Alsation with the most gorgeous coat. His head alone was about the size of Arch, but he was gentle. He lay down, so his head was on the same level as the wee fella's. He was just in for a check up, I think.

He had gone in before us, and as I was leaving the two owners came out without him, looking tearful. Apparently there was something wrong requiring an anaesthetic and stitches, which I don't think they had been prepared for.

Vet's instructions are for Archie to take it easy for a day or two and to stay away from other dogs (Oh no! Tragic).

We sat on this bench, where I've taken a photo before. Funnily enough, after a vet visit for his sore eye last year. The bench looks the same, but Archie looks quite different. More handsome, I think. And not just because we've mastered the art of keeping his beard white.

We're following vet's instructions on the sofa this afternoon.

PS Too nice an afternoon to follow vet's orders for too long. Archie fetched his football lots of times in the sun (out of the chilly breeze) back garden, then I mowed the lawn. A beer has been earned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.