Trumpeting the end of my stint on Derelict Sunday!

For those of you who didn't know what the two beasties were that had climbed out of my pond, mollyblob's said that 'the first extra is a damselfly larva climbing up on to a stem to undertake metamorphosis into the adult. The paler image is the empty larval case or exuvia. of one'.  Thanks Molly.

Now for my take on this Sunday's Dereliction which again produced a good variety of subjects.

In no particular order my hearts go to the following:

freespiral for her beautiful 'doll's' house which she claims is ready for occupation -  please may I be first in line!
Hopeton01 for highlighting my nightmares and those of many - there but for the grace of god...- my father used to threaten us with being sent to a similar institution called Herrison House if we stepped out of line.
mpp26 - I always think sailors and miners are the bravest of men so I thank her for showing the bleak, sieve like hulk which serves as a memorial for sailors lost at sea along the Wellington coast.
gblrps for warped humour implied by the chequerboard tower.
Kersko for the derelict water pump which reminds me how lucky we all are to have clean water straight from a tap.  I wonder how many hands have pumped that handle.

And  Highly Commended, again in no particular order, are:
looloo164 for showing us a beautifully framed result of Henry V111's greed.
Ingeborg for reminding us how easy life is nowadays.  I had to use one of these telephone boxes for many years and it was a ghastly walk in the dark through a wood to phone for the doctor or to chat with my mother,
TheChemist for bringing back early memories of first hearing this silly song being sung at a pantomime - and killing myself with laughter
Mario for showing us the end results of our profligacy.
davidc for reminding us that even concrete won't last forever - thousands of years hence when they excavate they will wonder what we lived in.
Catchitwhenican for showing French waste (as a farmer's daughter I could say more but won't!) 
Kd for the wagon wheel rims - the wheelwright's skill, matched by the blacksmith with whom he made these iron shod wheels always fills me with awe.
sk for her compilation of pictures of Woodsford Castle - a grand old pile
Morton for reminding us of family Sundays before the advent of Supermarket shopping and cars and...
chantler63 for her church where reputedly satanic rituals and human sacrifice occurred.

Everybody did a grand job this week and I'm sorry that I can't award more. Remember that next week Marlieske will be taking over. I've really enjoyed my stint and finding some new to me journals and
I've  appreciated all your comments and thanks. Over and out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.