THE WHITE CAT WAS HIDING

in the rose and large grass bed of the park, looking evidently for a mouse.
I spotted her and did take quite a lot of pictures, all different.
While I was busy a woman came along, who asked me if I was taking pictures of that cat. On my affirmation she said that she did feed the cat every day. The cat came simply into her apartment to eat her meal and perhaps slept there too, although this woman had a cat of her own. I asked her if the cat had a name, and she did not know. She had not given the cat a name herself.
She was a bit surprised to see the cat in the park, as I had been too. Because there is a road and the lightrail between the park and the block where we live. Years ago I had taken a portrait too of this cat, and hardly ever had seen her since.
I followed my trip to Loosduinen, to the Hema, and back again.
In the afternoon Piet Hein and I went to the sea. The weather has changed a lot since yesterday, but it was pleasant enough to walk along the beach.

My haiku:

Cat without a name
Snow White I would suggest if
She came visiting

And the quote by Joseph Wood Krutch, The Twelve Seasons, 1949:

Cats seem to go on the principle that it never does any harm to ask for what you want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.