If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A Morning Walk

Day 9 of our Solace trip.  Recently I have been trying to get a little fitter and have been using one of those tracker things (a sort of pedometer on steroids) to give a measure of what I have been doing.   I have been surprised that on many days I have covered no more steps than I would at home.

Going by the "charts" (our nickname for the Nicholson's Guide and my print out from the canal planner website) I would be having a less active day than usual - fewer locks and not close together.  Close together I walk from one to the next further apart I get back on the boat.  In view of the potentially less active day I decided to begin by walking along the towpath while Solace motored along.

I picked one of the worst pieces of towpath we had seen all week.  To use the language of my youth it was varra clarty and slothery in places.
This resulted in me not walking as far as I might otherwise have.

The shot I have chosen for to day is looking out from under one of the old bridges showing the cobble path, the cast iron post mentioned in a previous days journal.  The main reason is because it is a shot I rarely get chance to take as I am on board or busy with locks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.