Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Organic Nectar

This little gem was flitting about like crazy this morning.  She even flew right up to the glass I was looking through, hovering, seemingly staring right at me.  I think she was actually seeing her own reflection, though, and maybe thinking, "who is this other hummingbird trying to get at my food?"  I tried to swing the camera around to catch her but since we were only about a foot apart there was no chance for a shot using a 400 mm lens.

So I waited.  And waited.  When I saw the little devil hanging around the red yucca searching for buds that had flowered (opened).  I whipped and dipped the camera as I tried to follow her among the stalks. 

I took about fifteen photos.  The blip and the extra were the only ones I got in focus.  The distance, the teeny size of the bird, its quickness and the tendency for the camera to focus on the stalks are challenges that need to be overcome for success.

I hope they are acceptably sharp

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.