EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Time travel

Bought this on mothers-day. It is called now Polish pottery. Before the war it was called "Bunzlauer Töpferware". They were famous for their peacock design on plates, cups and vases. My mother studied there until war broke out and the ateliers Were closed. After the war when "Schlesien" or Silesia had been taken over by Poland they reopened the ateliers again and sold the same designs for a lot of money. Since the iron curtain does not exist anymore they came up with new designs . The blue color is still typical, the design on the cup is rather new.

I noticed only in the evening that this purchase had been motivated very subconsciously. I don't think of my mother on a daily base anymore. I don't miss her in a sentimental way. She accompanied me in my life for such an incredibly long time that I can let her go with gratitude.
And there I am, buying in St. Helena, CA a cup that reminds me of her and her happy days when she was 20. Our subconsciousness is amazing!

Thank you for all your kind reactions to my little or better not so little rabbit. He was huge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.